That's a sexy man!

I have been inspired to write and read again. Well, I have been reading a bit, but that stupid subject GRE had me busy for most of September and October (I did horribly, so don’t ask).

Reading Gretchen Rubin’s “Happiness Project” over at Slate.com, I came across the following quote by one of my favorites, Carl Jung: “The creative mind plays with the objects it loves.”

I think this quote explains a lot about why I do what it is I do; a question that has been plaguing me lately as I trudge through shitty GRE tests and spend lots of money I don’t have on applying for PhD. Programs. The answer for me (as I jokingly always say: “I just want to be left alone to read and sometimes write), is the quote. Simply put, I study literature and write about it from the different perspectives I try to write about it from (postmodern, Lacanian, Jungian, Freudian, historical, etc) because:

I love literature.

I feel most relaxed after two cups of coffee, two hours in to reading a book that has really captured my attention. And I think, stemming from my problems reading as a child, along with taking so long to finish my BA, I always feel like I am lagging behind, so I feel the need to “play with the objects” (play with literature) in as many ways as possible. I want to get into the story, become a part of it, I want the words to float around in my head, I want to “problemitize” the text; that is to say, I want to play with the objects I love. I want to try and see these same old words in different and new ways. This is also the reason I refuse to associate with one school of thought, strictly. While I lean towards postmodern thought (because of its encouragement of “play” and pastiche), that does not mean I am opposed to looking at things through a Jungian or Freudian or semiological lens.

With that in mind, I will be “playing” with a some of the things I have read in the last couple of months.

