It is New Year’s Eve, so I am not going to do much thinking today.

Here are just some smarter people than I am on the New Year:

New Year’s is a harmless annual institution, of no particular use to anybody save as a scapegoat for promiscuous drunks, and friendly calls and humbug resolutions. ~Mark Twain

He who breaks a resolution is a weakling;
He who makes one is a fool.
~F.M. Knowles

For last year’s words belong to last year’s language
And next year’s words await another voice.
And to make an end is to make a beginning.
~T.S. Eliot, “Little Gidding”

Be always at war with your vices, at peace with your neighbors, and let each new year find you a better man. ~Benjamin Franklin

Youth is when you’re allowed to stay up late on New Year’s Eve. Middle age is when you’re forced to. ~Bill Vaughn

The New Year bring with it all the old superstitions and traditions. In my family, from our Spanish grandfather, we eat 12 grapes at midnight. I also remember my father throwing out a bucket of water, and this was supposed to scare away bad spirits. A kind of baptism of the new year.

Here is a list of traditions from around the world. Enjoy the New Year everyone. I’ll be back to my fragmented thoughts soon enough.

So in searching for an image for this post, I ran into this.

