The grad life is well under way. This week has been rough. I have been going to orientation/new teacher training all week from 9am-5-ish. Nothing new there; it was all the stuff I expected it to be. We got the break down on the major project we are going to be teaching with lots of helpful sample schedules, advice, writing prompts, in-class activities, etc. Today, I was able to finish all my syllabi, work out my project one schedule, and set up my rosters and most of my blackboard stuff. I am looking forward to the challenge of teaching these new essays.

I am worried it will be a disaster. I have the students reading some essays on the shifting perspective of histories. The idea is to get them thinking about how history is an event to be interpreted. I also have them reading a couple of feminist/women’s rights article because I want them thinking about how the culture, society (that is, how history) changes in a specific event. I haven’t worked out all the details, but the idea is that for the next essay, they are going to look at two ads from different time periods and explain how the context of the ads affects the rhetorical choices the ad makes. We’ll see how that all turns out. I am happy that I got a really helpful mentor and that all the other mentors are approachable and helpful as well. I don’t think teaching here will be a problem.

What does have me worried is that the theory people (that the mentor’s mentioned) sounds like they aren’t really all that approachable, “Not a people person” was the term I believe they used. This could be a problem since theory is so hard to understand that having someone to go to and think out problems always helps. At least I have my old theory professor who is really really approachable and awsome

I digress, after yesterdays session, a bunch of people went over to a bar down the street from campus. I got to talk with some colleagues, drink some beers, and eat some pretty good wings. Everyone seems really friendly and nice (but they always do at the beginning.

I am a little anxious about the whole thing, but I always am. When the semester starts, you always have all these high hopes and you want to do all these things with your class, but there is only so much time to do it all. And there is all the work and readings you have to do for your own classes– it is hard to fit it all in.

The last couple of days I have been watching (in the background as I cook, eat, get ready for the day) Examined Life, but more on that later…

